

Whistler Arts Council (doing business as Arts Whistler) 2022 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING – Reviewing 2021 Fiscal Year Wednesday, May 11, 2022 - 5:30 pm Maury Young Arts Centre Theatre MINUTES

1. CALL TO ORDER – Welcome message from Board Chair, Brianna Beacom

2. NOTICE OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING – Brianna Beacom

Notice to Members: Bylaw 4.1 – Meetings of Members: **Notice of a general meeting must be given to all members not less than 14 days before the meeting.** Arts Whistler provided member notice in Pique Newsmagazine on February 17 and 24, 2022 and on April 21, 28 and May 5, 2022; notice provided directly to members via newsletter April 21; via eblast to members on April 27, May 4 and May 9, 2022; and was promoted through Arts Whistler's social media channels.

- 3. ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM Brianna Beacom Proceedings at General Meetings - Bylaw 5.2 – Quorum at a general meeting is 15 members who are in good standing, but not less than five members, personally present at all times
- 4. ADOPTION OF AGENDA Motion from a member to adopt the agenda as presented. Moved by C.Jewett. Carried.
- 5. ACCEPTANCE OF MINUTES FROM THE MAY 21, 2022 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (attached) Motion from a member to accept the minutes of the May 11, 2022 AGM. Moved by J.Murl. Carried.
- 6. PRESENTATION OF CHAIR & STAFF REPORT Chair, Shelagh Thiessen and Executive Director, Mo Douglas
- 7. PRESENTATION OF 2021 FINANCIAL STATEMENTS Jeff Murl, Treasurer

8. APPOINTMENT OF THE AUDITOR – Jeff Murl, Treasurer

Auditor - Bylaw 12.2. - At each AGM the Society may appoint an auditor to hold office until the auditor is re-elected or a successor is elected at the next AGM.

Recommended Motion: "Be it resolved that the firm of Weir and Company Chartered Accountants be appointed to conduct a review engagement for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2023." Moved by J.Richoz. Carried.

9. ELECTION OF DIRECTORS - Report from Nominating Committee, presented by Kimberley Stanger.

Arts Whistler's Board of Directors composition has been set at 12 for the 2022-2023 term. We did not receive candidate nominations that exceeded open director seats. Therefore the following board members are acclaimed to the board for a two-year term of 2022 - 2024 – Shelagh Thiessen, Kimberly Stanger, Liz Peacock and Katie Williamson. Jeanette Bruce has been appointed as the RMOW staff representative to the board. They join board members Murray Hunt, Jeff Murl, Theresa LaRose, Brianna Beacom, Brad Nichols, Jessie Morden and Cathy Jewett. Our thanks to departing board members Joan Richoz and Michelle Ratcliffe.

10. ADJOURN OFFICIAL AGM PROCEEDINGS – Board chair requests a motion to adjourn. Moved by C. Jewett. Carried.